The Seven Seals

For those interested in end-time prophecy, the Seven Seals of the Book of Revelation provide very much to consider. They are a lengthy preview, a warning to us, of the many spectacular events that are coming upon the world at some time in the future. References to the very same events can be found in numerous places in the writings of the Old Testament prophets, as well as other books of the New Testament. See By The Book.

The knowledge found in the Book of Revelation was written by The Apostle John while he was exiled on the island of Patmos. It is important to note that it is not the revelation of any man, in this case John, but the revelation of The Father as given to Jesus Christ Himself - He does the revealing. (Revelation 1:1).

What are the Seven Seals?

The Scroll with the Seven Seals originates from The Throne of God in heaven (Revelation 5:1), they are given in heaven to Jesus Christ for Him to open (Revelation 5:5-10), but they happen on earth (e.g. Revelation 5:10, 6:4).

Although the opening of each seal in turn has a spectacular result, the seventh seal is far greater because it is divided into seven trumpets, and its seventh trumpet is further divided into seven bowls (or vials). The Return of Jesus Christ occurs during the events of the seventh trumpet (see also The Shofar).

The first four seals are commonly known as the "four horsemen of the apocalypse."

Then, terrible persecution of the Saints

Next, great Signs In The Heavens

And then the Seventh Seal, with its seven trumpets, and seven bowls. The last three trumpets are known as the "three woes."

Fact Finder: Did Jesus Christ also prophesy many of the same end-time events during His human lifetime?
Matthew 24:1-51

Daily Bible Study
Copyright Information
Contact the Author or Web Site Administrator