Asia Minor

The ancient region known as Asia Minor, or Anatolia, is located in southwestern Asia. Bounded by the Black Sea to the north, the Sea of Marmara, the Bosporus, and the Dardanelles to the northwest, The Aegean Sea to the west, The Mediterranean Sea to the south, we know it today as Turkey.

Turkey's central location between Greece and Mesopotamia made it a common meeting point between Europe and Asia during Bible History. After the decline of the Hittites, the region was colonized by the Greeks (see Ancient Empires - Greece), and later by the Persians (see Ancient Empires - Persia) after the Persian Wars. The Romans (see Ancient Empires - Rome) then followed.

Cities in Asia Minor most familiar in The Bible are Alexandria Troas, Assos, Attalia, Antioch, Colossae, Derbe, Ephesus, Iconium, Laodicea, Lystra, Miletus, Patara, Pergamum, Philadelphia, Sardis, Smyrna, Tarsus, and Thyatira.

The apostle Paul, who wrote a very large part of The New Testament (see On The Road To Damascus), was from Tarsus in Asia Minor, and he traveled widely through the region in his ministry (see Paul's First Missionary Journey and Paul's Second Missionary Journey and Paul's Third Missionary Journey and Paul In Athens)

The Island Of Patmos is located in the Aegean Sea just off the west coast of Turkey. It was there that the The Apostle John was given to write the book of Revelation, including the letters to the The Seven Churches in Asia Minor - Ephesus, Smyrna, Pergamum, Thyatira, Sardis, Philadelphia, and Laodicea.

Fact Finder: Who was the actual author of the letters to the seven churches in Asia Minor?
Revelation 1:1

Bible Places Index | Daily Bible Study Home Page

Daily Bible Study
Copyright Information
Contact the Author or Web Site Administrator