Aramaic is a member of the ancient Semitic family of languages, which includes Hebrew and Arabic (although the names are similar, Aramaic and Arabic are not the same). The Aramaic alphabet consists of 22 letters, written from right to left. Originally the language of the Arameans who inhabited northwestern Mesopotamia/Syria, the various dialects of Aramaic were eventually widely used over a vast area, from Greece to India, which included Galilee in northern Israel. Aramaic was the everyday language of Jesus Christ, along with Hebrew and Greek.

Aramaic was evident throughout Bible History:

Jacob spoke Hebrew, while Laban spoke Aramaic (see Jacob and Laban):

The Assyrian forces (see Ancient Empires - Assyria) that attacked King Hezekiah of Judah (see Kings of Israel and Judah) spoke Aramaic:

Those who opposed the rebuilding of Jerusalem after the Persians (see Ancient Empires - Persia) had allowed the people of Judah to return from the Babylonian captivity (see Why Babylon? and Ancient Empires - Babylon) spoke Aramaic:

The astrologers who served King Nebuchadnezzar spoke to the king in Aramaic. They were unable to reveal the meaning of the king's dream (see Daniel's Statue), but God revealed the meaning to Daniel:

The Writing On The Wall to Belshazzar was in Aramaic:

Well-known Bible Places have names in Aramaic:

Jesus Christ spoke in Aramaic:

Fact Finder: The sign that was nailed to the cross above Jesus Christ was written in three languages - Aramaic, Latin and Greek. What did the sign say?
John 19:19-20

By The Book Index | Daily Bible Study Home Page

Daily Bible Study
Copyright Information
Contact the Author or Web Site Administrator