Arabia is the name given to a vast region, covering over 1,200,000 square miles, of the Middle East. It's generally considered to be the area bounded on the south by the Indian Ocean, on the east by the Persian Gulf and the Euphrates River, on the west by the Isthmus of Suez and the Red Sea, and on the north Syria and Mesopotamia.

In ancient times, Arabia was composed of three sections:

In modern times, Ariabia is composed of:

Although Arabia was inhabited by a variety of tribes - Ishmaelites, Arabians, Idumeans, Horites, and Edomites - they eventually intermingled, becoming identified together as Arabs. Modern Arabs are predominantly descendants of Abraham, through Ishmael. For this reason, the burial place of Abraham in Hebron is regarded as sacred by both Jews and Arabs today.

Arabs were well-known through Bible History:

Fact Finder: Who was the mother of Ishmael?
See Hagar

Bible Places Index | Daily Bible Study Home Page

Daily Bible Study
Copyright Information
Contact the Author or Web Site Administrator